Greetings! Puzzle #1: Brooklyn Sights

Welcome to Puzzling New York City!  Thanks for stopping by.  I hope you will enjoy the offerings now and in the weeks to come.  I enjoy a good puzzle, especially word puzzles, and I am also hopelessly smitten with New York City, so I figured I would combine these two loves and see what happens.  Here’s how its going to work.  I will be posting every Friday, Monday and Tuesday to start.  Every Friday will be a new puzzle whose theme and answers will be inspired by the Big Apple.  I will post the answers to the puzzle on Monday, so you can waste a perfectly good weekend on a puzzle.  Tuesday’s post will involve the interesting things I have learned about NYC through researching and creating these puzzles.  I hope to find out more about this great city I call home, and I would love to find and pass on little nuggets of information or  hidden gems within the Five Boroughs.

Now Friday’s posts will mostly be word puzzles, but I will also post trivia, scavenger hunts and other brain teasers, so if you are not a fan of crosswords or anagrams, check back from time to time.  You may find something to your liking.  Monday’s answers will give some insight to the creation of the puzzle as well, unless everyone finds that dead boring.  If I have too much material for a Tuesday post, I will post other days as well that week, and I will alert y’all accordingly.

The most important thing that I want to accomplish with this blog is that you, the puzzlers, enjoy the puzzles.  Crazy, right?  Well, while I am quite proud of the puzzles I have ready and raring to go, this is not about me trying to show you guys how clever I am.  It is about creating enjoyable challenges, so feedback is more than greatly appreciated.  I may like a certain type of word puzzle that everyone who finds this blog loathes, and I would want to know that and adjust my approach accordingly.  One word of warning, however (cue ominous music)…  I will try to post challenging puzzles.  I like to stretch my brain around difficult wordplay.  I do not like the term “dumbed down”, but I am trying to appeal to real puzzleheads here, so there will be some intricate wordplay involved.

Now having said that, I will probably will have my first puzzle solved in ten minutes by everyone who stumbles across it.

This is the first step for me as a puzzlemaker and a blogger, and I have ideas for some wild things in the future, but it all has to start somewhere, and for me somewhere is here.

When beginning things of this nature, it is customary to thank those who have helped me get to the starting line.  Thanks to Pookie, Snookie, Eleanor for blogging guidance.  Thanks to Scott Turner at Superba Graphics for the wicked cool banner and logo.   Thanks to Mom, Dad, Sis, my wife Liz and our boy Max.  Your love is the real deal.

And now, without any further ado:

They say write about what you know.  Well, I have lived in Brooklyn for over fifteen years now, and I am proud to call Kings county home.  The answer to each clue of this puzzle is a well known Brooklyn sight.  Each clue is a mini-puzzle in itself,  much in the style of cryptic crossword puzzle clues.  Here is an excellent explanation and solving tips for cryptic crosswords. I have kept the tradition of putting the number of letters in each word of the answer in parenthesis next to each clue, but, and this is a big but, I have broken with the tradition of having half of the cryptic clue be a literal definition of the answer.  Why?  This is a themed puzzle, and each clue would have some variation of “Brooklyn sight or…”.   Boring!  So the clues are all wordplay.  Happy solving!

  1. Emeril exclamation and an invisible rabbit  (3, 6)
  2. Young up and comer plays PR kazoo (8, 4, 3)
  3. This old house is built around sour notes (3, 5, 5)
  4. Red now reversed last prez dog order (6, 5)
  5. Third year student’s love cheesecake? (7)
  6. A thousand black knights and a playa who steps it up a notch in the fourth (5, 4, 5)
  7. The Big Apple presents Julius Caesar’s water and Capt. Morgan’s laced with iodine (3, 4, 8 )
  8. Lyn’s mumu booker is in disarray. (8, 6)
  9. DSXXHIQL DSMOMSQ (8, 7)
Tags: , , ,

5 Responses to “Greetings! Puzzle #1: Brooklyn Sights”

  1. Schnookie Says:

    Congratulations on the blog, Morgan! It looks FANTASTIC! And like it should be a ton of fun!

  2. mikesorgatz Says:

    Congrats on launching the blog!

  3. Morgan Doninger Says:

    Thanks for the love you guys!

  4. To Recap… « Puzzling New York City Says:

    […] Brooklyn Sights […]

  5. Puzzle#16 Wordplay: Staten Island Sights « Puzzling New York City Says:

    […] region at the Little League World Series as you read this: Staten Island.  This puzzle is like the previous four borough puzzles in that there will be nine sights in Staten Island in nine cryptic clues.  […]

Leave a Reply

