Puzzle #6 Wordplay: Riddles

Riddles are one of the oldest forms of puzzles known to man, and today I have eight brain teasers for you.  All of them are New York city themed (natch), and they also have the distinction of being the guest round for the Rocky Sullivan Pub Quiz!  I will have details of how my night went in the Tuesday post for this puzzle.  It should go great considering I already forgot my digital camera!  Sigh…  Anyway, if you weren’t at Rocky’s last night try these on for size.  Happy Puzzling!

1. Where in New York City do you travel up to 65 miles per hour, and yet always end up where you have started?

2. I have several poles with no opinions, a gate that moves, and my grass is inside my dirt.  What am I?

3. I have two Davids, two Marias, four Jameses and dozens of Bills.  What am I?

4. My annual visits are steeped in the past, but you know my visage thanks to New York and a one Mr. Nash.  And I am?

5. Where do thousands of people go from New York to Paris and back again eight times a week?

6. In the Big Apple how can you take one line and go from a circle to a square?

7. Although I am originally from France, I am now the quintessential New Yorker, and even though I am over 100 years old, I have only had work done on my face once.  Who am I?

8.  This last riddle returns to a rhyme.

     I am a clock, but I don’t measure time.

    What do I track?  Well it ain’t much fun.

    And it got a trillion times worse just by adding a one.

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “Puzzle #6 Wordplay: Riddles”

  1. mabknj Says:

    Are we supposed to post answers here?

    I only have definites for 3 or them, and a half-hearted guess on two:

    1. Cyclone 2. Red Hook Fields??? 6. Take a subway line to the end???
    7. Lady Liberty 8. Debt Clock

    • Morgan Doninger Says:

      I really haven’t had the readership/commentary to worry about this yet, but I was not looking for answers in the comments space. This is a more play along at home thingy for now. I hope to grow it into events when answers would come in by email or flickr, but I ain’t there yet. As you can see, I can barely keep up with comments now!

      Good answers though! I was more specific with the “1” line for riddle 6, but you got the gist of it.

  2. To Recap… « Puzzling New York City Says:

    […] Riddles […]

Leave a Reply

