The Internet is a Very Interesting Thing…

First thing’s first, the answer to  the bonus question from Monday.  What former iconic place in New York City would be just a lone apostrophe if your removed all of the consonants from its name?  See for yourself.  (Be thankful I had my safe search on.) 

Yep, the late great CBGB’s.

This is the kind of puzzling that I love to do.  One of the goals of this blog is to discover as well as amuse and bedevil.  I always want to learn more about New York, and this puzzle gave me that opportunity.  For instance, did you know that:

The now defunct Gage and Tollner’s restaurant in Brooklyn had its interior landmarked, so that anyone who took over the space had to honor the insides of it?  Including Arby’s.

Not only is the New York Coliseum gone, but so is Coliseum Books?  This is a real shame because I have a fondness for independent bookstores, and I had great memories of this old place.  Also, did you know that while the Coliseum and Coliseum Books are gone that the Coliseum Bar is still going strong?  It seems to have upscaled a bit since I hung out there in my college days, but I will let those tales lie for now.

The other sad thing about New York is that many of the things that are disappearing are either independent stores like Manny’s Music that are getting swallowed up but national chains, or quirky things like Astroland and McHale’s (which was a great fucking bar/burger joint) that are being sacrificed at the altar of “development”.  I know I am über-Polyanna when I lament the loss of New York’s independent entrepeneurs,  (I am fully aware that this is the way of the world right now, thank you very much) but I still want the phrase “Only in New York” to live on in some establishments.

The other very interesting thing about doing this puzzle is that I wanted to include a couple of things in the examples of the puzzle that were a bit personal to me.  I did work Snooky’s into it, but there were two other places that I could not remember some exact details, and I figured that the ol’ internet would bail me out on it.  Guess what?  Since both of the places were never hugely iconic (although big in their circles/time) and since both disappeared before the internet boom, I could not find them.

This is a very interesting aspect of the internet.  Lesser known things, like the closing of Snooky’s, are documented now, and sometimes in great detail, but things that went to pass before, oh say the late 1990’s or so are gone.  Anything that strikes a bloggers fancy is living on in the search engines of the internet, and people/places/ and things that didn’t hit a critical mass before the internet did are not documented well at all.  I find that to be a very tangible example of the power of the internet.

Here’s another one.  I know some people who can straighten me out on the two lost places that my memory failed me on.  So here’s the shout out:

Mom and/or Dad:  Was the name of the restaurant you guys liked so much called O. Henry’s, and if so where the hell was it?

Tony and/or Jay:  I can’t believe I am blanking on this, but the bar you guys worked your way through college at was called Jimmy- what?

If you could post the answers in the comments section, then these places will also get a toe hold in searchengineland.

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “The Internet is a Very Interesting Thing…”

  1. catherine lowe Says:

    One thing I like about New York is the art life. It seems that there are endless art performance in the city. You can never run out of art shows. It’s everywhere.

  2. magpie jen Says:

    Got O’Henry’s for you. 345 6th Ave (on the corner of W4th St – used to be a Gap store). I found it at this site, pretty cool for Village info past & present: http://www.nysonglines.com.

  3. Comings and Goings « Puzzling New York City Says:

    […] my musings post after Puzzle #30 I had asked for some help regarding two places that have disappeared from New York landscape, the […]

Leave a Reply

